G DATA Support - FAQ
Support Code: 21009

What is the Security Status of a client on G DATA Administrator and how does it work?

This article will detail the functioning of the Security Status of a G DATA Security Client, visible from the G DATA Administrator interface.

To show the Security Status of a G DATA Security Client, proceed as follows:

1. Open G DATA Administrator.

2. Using the client tree on the left hand side, select a client or group of clients.

3. Go to the panel Clients > Overview.

The Security Status allows to have an easy overview of different notifications related to the Security Clients. It can have different statuses:

Protected

No connection to server

Security risks have been detected

Not authorized

Protected

The client has recently connected to the server.

Additionally, the client’s virus signatures are up-to-date and it doesn’t have any un-read security related logs.

No connection to server

The client didn’t make a connection to the server for a certain amount of time.

This timeframe depends on the synchronization time set up for the clients (Via the panel ManagementServers > General settings > Synchronization). It is calculated as follows: client synchronization time x 5 + subnet server synchronization time. By default this value is 40 min.

Security risks have been detected

The client presents one of the following problems:

-        The virus signatures of the client are out of date

-        The client has recent security related logs which are still unread

To see which one of these problems are present, hover with your mouse over the message “Security risks have been detected”.

Keep in mind that if a client has both the status “No connection to server” and “Security risks have been detected” then the security warning will have priority, meaning that it will be the one displayed in the Overview panel.

If you wish to see the other status, hover with your mouse over the message “Security risks have been detected”

To see the security logs related to the client, first select the client in the client tree on the left, then go to the panel Logs > Security events.

To mark the logs as read either click on any of the log entries, or select several of them (to select them all you can use the shortcut Ctrl+A) then right click on the selected items and choose “Mark as read”.

If you have marked all the log entries as read, but the Security Status of the client still shows a risk, then you probably have unread reports older than 6 months.

To display them go back to the panel Logs > Security events, then click on the calendar icon at the top.

Change the "Period" to "Set manually", then in the field "from" enter an earlier date in time.

Not authorized

The communication between the ManagementServer and the Security Clients is encrypted.

This means that any client has to be authorized on the ManagementServer side before it can start communicating with it. This only has to be done once per client.

Additionally, clients are automatically authorized under the following circumstances:

1.     If the client has been installed remotely from the G DATA Administrator.

2.     If the client has been installed with a valid installation package. (Whenever you create an installation package, you can define for how long it will remain valid. By default this period is 30 days, however you can change it to unlimited if needed.)

3.     When the ManagementServer is updated from a version earlier than V14, all the existing clients are authorized.

4.     If the client has been installed via Active Directory syncrhonization (via the option "automatically install G Data Security Client on newly added computers").

5.     If the client has been automatically deleted from the server due to inactivity, it will be reauthorized if it connects back TO COMPLETE.

 

Keep in mind that if you manually delete an authorized client from the ManagementServer but don’t uninstall it, the next time it connects it will have to be authorized again.

 

To authorize any client, go to the panel Clients > Overview of G DATA Administrator.

Select any amount of unauthorized clients, then right click on them and choose Grant authorization.

Last change:
27/10/16

Operating system:

Products:
 Endpoint Protection Business
 AntiVirus Business
 Managed Endpoint Security
 Client Security Business